English Muffin Cinnamon Raisin Bread with Cinnamon Sugar Butter

20130224-143040.jpg

“Sugar and spice and all things nice”

If, like me, you love English muffins and you love cinnamon you will agree that this is a match made in heaven.

This bread is so good that I inhaled half a loaf straight from the oven- before forcing myself on a 10k run- and then eating some more.

20130224-143500.jpg

This weekend has been all about packing to move to Hong Kong. In the sense that the packing boxes that arrived yesterday remain untouched and I have been doing anything and everything to avoid beginning the packing process. Truly, I am packphobic- probably because I haven’t lived anywhere for more than 20 months since I was eleven. I sometimes feel I have spent my life living out of trunks, suitcases and backpacks (not that I don’t love it).

And so, faced by this incredibly stressful situation, I decided that the only logical thing to do was to bake.

And to close the door so that the boxes remain in the hallway where I can’t see them.

20130224-143613.jpg

When I saw this recipe on Pinterest (yes I live there) a couple of weeks ago I knew that this was something that I had to make before I move away.

This delight of a bread has the bubbly, springy texture of an English muffin and is studded with plump, juicy raisins. It is infused with sublime, heady cinnamon. I think I may even like it more than Donna’s Cinnamon Bread. What’s more, I don’t really want to eat any other bread for breakfast again.

This bread is best enjoyed toasted and is delicious with or without the cinnamon sugar butter. If you’re afraid of baking with yeast you can rest assured that this bread doesn’t require any kneading. The mixture takes under five minutes to prepare and after that it’s just a case of letting the dough rise for one hour before baking. The baking time suggested below shoud be adequete but if- as I do- you like your bread to be undercooked a bit doughy when you eat it then just reduce the cooking time by a few minutes.

Right, I really must start packing now.

Though I might just see if I can’t make a lemon cake first…

Over and out.

English Muffin Cinnamon Raisin Bread with Cinnamon Sugar Butter

(Adapted from the amazing Averie Cooks)

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients

2.5 cups plain flour

7g sachet Fast Action Dried Yeast

1/4 cup white sugar

2-3 teaspoons cinnamon

Pinch salt

1/8 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

1 cup milk

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup raisins

Cinnamon sugar butter

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 tablespoon white sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup soft butter

Method

1. Grease or line your loaf tin.

2. Mix 1.5 cups of the flour with the yeast, sugar, cinnamon, salt and bicarbonate of soda.

3. Warm the milk and water in the microwave for one minute and then add to the dry mixture. The liquid should be warm but not so hot that you can’t dip your finger in, or you will kill the yeast. Mix everything together with a wooden spoon for one minute.

4. Add the remaining flour and raisins and mix until just combined.

5. Pour into the prepared loaf tin and leave somewhere warm to rise for 1 hour or until it has doubled in size. Meanwhile heat your oven to 190 degrees Celsius.

6. Bake the loaf for 25- 30 minutes or until golden brown. The bread is ready when you get a hollow sound from tapping the bottom of the tin.

7. Leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes and then turn onto a wire rack. Cutting into the bread before it’s completely cool will cause the bread to squash a little (completely worth it in my view).

8. To make the cinnamon sugar butter mix the butter, sugars and cinnamon together until well combined. Slather on top of the toasted bread with abandon.

20130224-151945.jpg

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Savoury. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to English Muffin Cinnamon Raisin Bread with Cinnamon Sugar Butter

  1. this sounds and looks absolutely amazing, i think i’ll make this next weekend for a sunday morning brunch :)

  2. Thanks for trying my recipe and so glad you liked it. Good luck with your move – I can’t even imagine what that must be like to be planning/packing for it!

  3. Averie I am so glad I found this recipe because that’s how I found your blog, which I now look at every day! It is amazing. I won’t have an oven for the 6 months in Hong Kong so I will be getting my baking fixes through blogs such as yours! Thanks for the great recipe :)

Leave a Reply

