Guinness- Milk Chocolate Ice Cream

20120422-140207.jpg

Sunday morning: I am lying in bed eating ice cream out of a whisky glass. I think of the hundreds of people running the London Marathon not far from me. Call me lazy and uncharitable, but I know where I’d rather be.

In December I impulse purchased an ice cream maker. I dabbled with it over winter, making white chocolate ice cream and chocolate- hazelnut ice cream with varying degrees of success. Now that it’s spring I have high hopes for sunshine and ice cream experimentation.

Since buying David Lebovitz’s ‘Perfect Scoop’ a month ago I have been paralysed with inaction. The book has so many inventive ice cream recipes that in the end I resorted to eeny- meany- miny- mo (I am clearly mature enough to make straightforward decisions now that I am nearly 25).

This ice cream is WOW. Silky smooth and (sorry) melt in the mouth. It would make a killer milkshake. If it had a tv ad, sultry eyes, leprechauns and the M&S voice would all feature somewhere.

I have made chocolate Guinness cake in the past, which is wonderful in it’s own way. Although the Guinness does something spectacular to the texture of the cake, the taste of Guinness is not perceptible. Not so here- this ice cream achieves a perfect balance of both flavours and has a yeasty, zingy aftertaste (which sounds wrong but really work).

I can only apologize that I don’t have a better picture to present you with. Ice cream is a cruel mistress to photograph.

Stay tuned for further ice cream instalments.

Guinness-Milk Chocolate Ice Cream (adapted from David Lebovitz’s ‘Perfect Scoop’)

200g milk chocolate, broken into chunks

250ml whole milk

100g sugar

Pinch of salt

4 large egg yolks

250ml double cream

180ml Guinness

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Put the chocolate in a bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.

2. Warm the milk, sugar and salt in a medium saucepan. Slowly pour the warm mixture over the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the mixture back into the pan.

3. Stir continuously over a medium heat until it thickens. Pour over the chocolate and stir quickly until all of the chocolate has melted.

4. Mix in the cream, Guinness and vanilla.

5. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the fridge and then freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Ice Cream. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

