Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding

20120429-132711.jpg

Oh. My. Goodness.

This is one of the most delicious things I have made in a while. We’re talking weak-at-the-knees, humbled-by-its-presence good.

Go and buy Krispy Kremes now.

Run.

Steal money from a kid if you have to.

20120429-133156.jpg

This amazing take on a traditional bread and butter pudding comes from Rosie at Sweetapolita. I have a huge blog crush on Rosie. Her cakes are astonishingly creative (check out her asparagus cake) and she takes stunning photos. AND she’s really pretty.

I have never really liked Krispy Kremes very much. I find them dry, overrated and altogether a bit uninspiring. But when I saw this recipe it immediately went to the top of my to-do list.

When I visit my family I often buy Krispy Kremes on the way, so I knew that this would be the perfect thing to make when visiting them this weekend.

This recipe is very easy to make and the result is sweet (but not too sweet), warm and completely addictive. It is extremely, extremely comforting. All soft on the inside and crunchy on top. I fell asleep for 3 hours in the middle of making this so we ended up eating it with plain cream rather than Rosie’s espresso cream. I don’t think anything was lost. Next time I might try adding some maple extract or cinnamon in somewhere.

Rosie made this as a breakfast dish (only in Canada?). Much as I would like to pour scorn and a whole load of sugar-free muesli on that idea, I can’t. I think we have all eaten fridge-cold spoonfuls of the stuff this morning. It was unexpected but I have lost all dignity to this pudding.

LOVE YOU ROSIE.

Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding (as blogged about by Rosie at Sweetapolita)

1 1/2 dozen Krispy Kreme doughnuts cut into sixths

1 litre double cream

500ml milk

10 large egg yolks

2 eggs

125ml condensed milk

125ml brewed espresso

1. Preheat the oven to 120 degrees Celsius.

2. Place the doughnut pieces on two lined baking sheet. Bake for 30 minutes until crisp on the outside and semi firm on the inside.

3. Raise the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

4. In a large bowl whisk together 500ml of the cream, the milk, egg whites, eggs and condensed milk. Add the doughnut pieces and let soak for about 1 hour.

5. Lightly butter a 9×13 inch dish and spoon the doughnut mixture into it and cover it will foil. Put the dish in a large roasting tin and add boiling water until it is halfway up the side of the baking dish.

6. Bake for 40 minutes, remove the foil and then bake for a further 20 minutes or until the pudding is set.

7. Whip the remaining cream until it forms soft peaks, then stir in the espresso. Serve with the warm pudding.

This entry was posted in Cake. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

