Baked Oatmeal: Bank Holiday Bliss.

20120507-111501.jpg

I woke up this morning and knew I had to make this. It has been on the radar for a while and suddenly it just had to be done.

I love brunch. For a while I thought it was my favourite meal (always a hotly debated topic if you are me) until I realised it leaves an awkward mid- afternoon hunger in its wake. No matter. I’m sure it’s not a problem that can’t be solved by a slice of cake healthy snack.

This baked oatmeal is like a non-sweet crumble/ porridge amalgamation. It feels nourishing and each of its ingredients- oats, milk, banana, berries- scream breakfast. I need to get back on the brunch bandwagon- it’s always a sociable, happy meal whoever you are making/ eating it with.

Today I will mainly be baking. I might throw in a gym trip if I feel like mixing with the predatory men who seem to live at my new gym. At least I can retreat to my kitchen sanctuary afterwards for a very happy afternoon. Not that I’m one to perpetuate the male- female stereotype.

I highly recommend this recipe. Feel free to use whatever fruit is in season- plums or peaches would be awesome. Next time I will add sultanas too.

Baked Oatmeal (adapted from the amazing Poires et Chocolat)

Serves 2-3 (depending on appetite)

100g rolled oats

30g brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Pinch salt

230ml milk

1 egg

20g butter

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1 banana, thickly sliced

75g mixed berries (frozen are fine)

Maple syrup, if desired

1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Butter a baking dish.

2. Melt the butter in a small saucepan or in the microwave.

3. In a bowl, mix together the oats, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.

4. In another bowl mix together the egg, milk, vanilla and butter.

5. Arrange the banana over the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle 2/3 of the berries over the top of the banana. Next, add in the oat mixture so it covers the fruit. Pour the milk mixture over the top so that all of the oats are wet.

6. Sprinkle over the remaining fruit and bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes until golden and set. Serve hot, drizzled with maple syrup if desired.

This entry was posted in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

