Hummingbird Bundt Cake

20120902-192920.jpg

Hummingbird Cake is a banana pineapple spice cake with a cream cheese frosting.

It is a Southern United States tradition.

It is one humdinger of a cake.

I’ve wanted to make this cake since I purchased ‘The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook’ years ago, but have always been intimidated by its traditional layer cake format. So when I saw this Bundt version on Pinterest (I can’t beleive I got Pinterest) I knew it was finally time.

Bundt cakes are named after the ring shaped tin they are baked in. They are my new favourite thing.

The Bundt is larger than a normal cake and will feed all cake junkies in a department at work in modest slices. And the best part? I have yet to come across a Bundt recipe that requires more than a single bowl and a bit of ballon whisk action. Simples.

This cake was devoured by the Finance department in under an hour, with the first slices being stolen before 10am. Offenders shall remain anonymous.

It was labelled ‘breakfast’ by my supervisor, and I’m loving the idea.

This cake is very moist, with all of the flavours complementing each other perfectly. It is quite simply AH-mazing. My inner fatty has been yelling at me all weekend to make it again. Just for me.

If you are a keen baker then I urge you to invest in a Bundt tin. Grab some American measuring cups while you’re at it. I promise you won’t regret it.

Nordic Bakeware is a good starting point. Every time I visit their site I wonder whether I have died and gone to heaven.

Enjoy, y’all.

20120902-194701.jpg

Hummingbird Bundt Cake

(Adapted from Bake or Break)

(serves 12)

1.5 cups chopped pecans
3 cups plain flour, sifted
2 cups granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs
4 large bananas, mashed
8 ounces crushed pineapple (undrained) or pineapple chunks, whizzed in a blender
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract

4 ounces cream cheese
2 cups icing sugar, sifted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-2 tablespoons milk

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Grease your Bundt tin. Sprinkle 1 cup of the chopped pecans around the bottom of the tin.

2. In a bowl mix together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.

3. Stir in the eggs, banana, pineapple, oil and vanilla until the ingredients are just combined.

4. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for 60-70 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.

5. Leave to cool in the tin for fifteen minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

6. To make the glaze, mix together the cream cheese, icing sugar and vanilla. Add about 1 tablespoon of the milk and up to one tablespoon more if it doesn’t seem runny enough (you want it thick but pourable).

7. Pour the icing over the cooled cake and scatter over the remaining chopped pecans.

This entry was posted in Cake. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

