Butteries

20130120-192814.jpg

Some days I feel like I want to pack it all in to bake all day, become a yummy mummy and move to the Scottish Highlands. Then, if I’m being sensible, I realise that I’d miss my current lifestyle.

What I’m trying to say, in a round about sort of way, is that I really love the Highlands. Banffshire to be specific. It’s my favourite place.

Butteries (or “Aberdeen Rowies”) are native to the North East of Scotland.

A buttery is like a croissant, only flat and salty and SO MUCH BETTER. I pretty much force feed them to people who haven’t tried them before.

20130120-192926.jpg
Butteries get their name from their high fat content. They contain butter and lard (I know). They are crispy, chewy and oh-so-soft all at the same time.

Since returning from Scotland two weeks ago there hasn’t been a day I haven’t wished I was still there.

I decided to make butteries to quell my January blues.

It worked but I feel sick. I think I over did it. The January detox is clearly going swimmingly.

20130120-193039.jpg

Butteries

Adapted from the BBC website

Makes 10

Ingredients

500g strong white flour

1x 7g sachet easy blend dried yeast.

1 tbsp light brown sugar

1 tbsp sea salt flakes

350ml warm water

230g butter

80g lard

Method

1. Combine the flour, yeast, salt and sugar in a bowl. Slowly pour in the warm water and stir until the mixture forms a ball.

2. Knead the dough for 8-10 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Leave the dough to rise in a clean, oiled bowl for 1 hour or until the dough has doubled in size.

3. While the dough rises cream together the butter and lard until spreadable. Divide into four portions.

4. Roll the dough out into a rectangle approx 40 x 20cm. Spread one portion of the butter/ lard mixture over 2/3 of the dough. Fold the remaining 1/3 over so that it covers the middle 1/3 of the dough. Repeat with the remaining 1/3 (like folding a letter).

5. Roll the dough out again to 40 x 20cm. Repeat step 4 until all four portions of butter/lard have been rolled into the dough.

6. Roll the dough out one final time to 40 x 20cm and cut into 10 smaller rectangles. Shape the rectangles into ovals and flatten.

7. Leave the uncooked butteries to rise for 45 minutes. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius and then bake for 15-20 minutes. If a lot of excess butter melts in the tray during cooking, remove the butteries from the oven and pour this away before returning the butteries to the oven.

8. Serve warm with jam. Butteries freeze well and are easily reheated.

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

